Austrian National Library

Central postal address:
Josefsplatz 1, Postfach 25
A - 1015 Vienna

Tel. 0043 1 534 10
Fax 0043 1 534 10 - 280

Music Department

Tel. 0043 1 534 10 - 305
Fax 0043 1 534 10 - 310
Access: Palais Mollard, Herrengasse 9, Reading Room on the 3rd floor

Opening hours of the Music Department
1st October to 30th June:
Mon, Tue, Wed: 9 - 16 hrs
Thu 12 - 19 hrs
Fri 9 - 13 hrs
Satand Sunclosed

1st July to 30th September:
Mon to Fri 9 - 13 hrs
Sat and Sun closed

For current information on special closing times, such as on public holidays, please always refer to the website of the Austrian National Library.

The Music Department of the Austrian National Library constitutes Austria’s largest music archives, both a modern academic user library and a depository of valuable musical original manuscripts.
Along with an extensive collection of documents and literature about Robert and Clara Schumann – with a search facility in the catalogue of the Music Department (music prints, manuscripts, sound recordings, Nachlasse) on, the Music Department of the Austrian National Library also holds an autograph by Robert Schumann, namely a corrected clean copy of Schumann’s Finale (4th movement) of the Piano Sonata No. 1 in F sharp minor Op. 11 (Mus.Hs.18411. Mus A/Schumann/1), composed between 1833 and 1835, which was meant to serve as the engraver’s copy.

(I.B., translated by Thomas Henninger)

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu gewährleisten.

Wenn Sie auf unserer Seite weitersurfen, stimmen Sie bitte der Cookie-Nutzung zu!

Ich stimme zu!