LSO, Sir Eliot Gardiner & Piotr Anderszewski: Schumann

10.02.2019 - 19:00 Uhr

SCHUMANN Overture: Manfred
SCHUMANN Piano Concerto
SCHUMANN Symphony No 1, ‘Spring’

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Piotr Anderszewski piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Sir John Eliot Gardiner explores Schumann at his most urgent, dramatic and tender.

Desperate, heartfelt and elegant, the Manfred Overture opens with an urgent impetus that only increases through the work, displaying the intense strife which lies ahead for its protagonist. Then hear a Piano Concerto as challenging for the player’s poetic imagination as it is for their virtuosity; Schumann’s exquisite piano writing and the delicately tender relationship between soloist and orchestra are like none heard in Piano Concertos before him.

From the dramatic first trumpet-call which awakens the frozen landscape, Schumann’s Symphony No 1 is a celebration of spring. Move through the season and the gruff folksong Scherzo until finally the season departs with a cheery farewell, a jubilant conclusion which dances into summer.


Barbican Hall
Silk Street
EC2Y 8DS London EC2Y 8DS


London Symphony Orchestra
Silk Street, Barbican Centre, 6th Floor
London EC2Y 8DS


Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen den bestmöglichen Service zu gewährleisten.

Wenn Sie auf unserer Seite weitersurfen, stimmen Sie bitte der Cookie-Nutzung zu!

Ich stimme zu!